LeighBakes: An Introduction

8 Feb

Hi there! My name is Leigh, and I’m a cake decorator who can’t bake.

While I can fill, frost, and festoon a cake or cupcake to perfection, I’ve always relied on other people to make those cakes and cupcakes for me first. I’ve decided that this needs to change–who wants to be a one-trick pony?

The thing is, I’ve almost never baked anything from scratch before. I’ve always been a big fan of cake mixes and pre-made pie crusts. But as everyone knows, no cake made from a mix can compare to one made lovingly by hand, from the first step to the last. From now on, I’d like to be able to say that I put as much thought, time, and skill into making desserts as I put into decorating them.

So, that’s my mission. Check back often to see how I’m doing! I’m bound to make a few (dozen) mistakes along the way, and I’m always open to advice, critiques, and people to join me in laughing at myself. Keep me company as I progress from a clueless amateur to–fingers crossed–a baker extraordinaire!

~ Leigh

For more about me, please see the About page.

4 Responses to “LeighBakes: An Introduction”

  1. name meanings February 23, 2011 at 6:21 pm #

    great work

  2. mybakingempire February 26, 2011 at 12:52 pm #

    I’m excited for you! I have almost the opposite problem – I can bake, but can only do basic cake decorations from my Wilton Course. I wish you luck, and I’ll be here to check out your stuff and maybe steal some recipes ;)

    • leighbakes February 26, 2011 at 9:44 pm #

      Awesome! Ah, if only we could somehow team up…I guess we’ll just have to swap advice from time to time. :) But for the record, all the photos of the treats on your site look pretty darn great already!

Leave a Reply

